Antidote for a stormy day: Apple Crumble Bread Pudding

applecrispbreadpudding

On this particular stormy day I was feeling like an absolute beast, and I knew the only thing that would cheer me up was some kind of hot buttery apple-y caramel-y kind of thing, so straight up apple crumble or bread pudding would have just fallen short. I had been working my way through a big bag of these little juicing apples called “pink crispy” that I wanted to use before they went off, I’m about 90% sure they were some domestic smaller version of pink lady. Whatever they were, they were sweet and crisp, so just perfect for this dish. I would not use green apples for this, or any mealy baking apples, honestly, if you wouldn’t want to eat it fresh, what makes you think you would want to eat it baked into a dessert? I don’t know why people think that if food is going off or is sub par they should bake or cook with it, your food is only as good as your ingredients. Remember this. The same goes for anything you make with chocolate, the better the brand, the better the finished result. But that’s a rant for another time. The apples make up a lot of this dish so they have to be good. Go for something tasty and you will be rewarded, I promise.

This is where I got my inspiration and quantities, but #1: margarine does not enter this house, and #2: in my opinion it’s better with the added salt, spices and crumble. Also, I reeealy need to watch my sugar intake so I skipped the sauce but for all out decadence, GO FOR IT. With butter, not margarine. Never with margarine.

Vanilla Ice Cream Optional, but really, why would you skip it?

“Antidote for a stormy day” (some people eat this for breakfast too, I’m not stopping you…)

pud

Original recipe makes 8-10 big servings

APPLE CRUMBLE BREAD PUDDING

4 cups soft or day old bread cubes (I mixed white and whole wheat for
nice texture and color variation)

1/4 cup raisins (I left these out and added more apples, original recipe only called for 2 cups)

Note: I generally have no love for raisins, but they can be fantastic in something like this, especially if you rehydrate them in some brandy or liqueur before adding them. Also, my Grandpa would probably disown me if I left them out of a bread pudding recipe, so here they are. use them or don’t, it’s up to you.

3-4 cups peeled and sliced apples (Pink lady for best flavor)

1 cup brown sugar

1 3/4 cups 3% or whole milk (or heavy cream, depends how deadly you want it)

1/4 cup butter

1 teaspoon ground Cinnamon

1/4 teaspoon ground Ginger

1/4 teaspoon ground Nutmeg

1/4 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

3 eggs, beaten

CRUMBLE TOPPING

1/4 cup brown sugar

1/4 cup flour

1/4 teaspoon salt

2 tablespoons butter

1/8 teaspoon cinnamon OPTIONAL (there’s enough in the custard mix) but go ahead if you want, I can’t EVER get enough cinnamon.

Pinch together until you have right consistency, sprinkle evenly over
the top right before baking.

VANILLA SAUCE

(I skipped this, and made the crumble topping and had it with ice cream. Which kind of screwed that whole “keep the sugar down” plan but you know, I tried. It would be beyond awesomely decadent with everything piled on, and I would do it that way for a big holiday dessert finale. If you do make it, cook for a while until it thickens up, otherwise it will be way too watery. You are going for a kind of a caramel drizzle consistency here. Since it was just 4 of us for a weekend dinner and my guests were on the “fit” side, I knew it would be too much.) 😦  Next time my precious. Next time.

1/4 cup white sugar

1/4 cup brown sugar

1/2 cup milk

1/2 cup butter

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

DIRECTIONS

1) Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Grease a 7×11 inch
baking dish (I used 2 standard loaf pans).

2) In a large bowl, combine bread, raisins, and apples. In a small
saucepan over medium heat, combine 1 cup brown sugar, 1 3/4 cups milk
or cream, and 1/4 cup butter. Cook and stir until butter is melted.
Pour over bread mixture in bowl.

3) In a small bowl, whisk together cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger, salt, 1
teaspoon vanilla, and 3 eggs. Pour bread mixture into prepared dish
(greased and lined with baking paper), and pour egg mixture over
bread. If any bread or apples are not covered, push them down until
they get the milk and egg mixture on them, they don’t have to be
covered, but they should be wet through. Don’t worry about there not
being enough liquid, the apples will add plenty.

4) Mix crumble ingredients by pinching together until you have lots of
tiny bits, then sprinkle over the top of the pan spreading evenly.

5) Bake in preheated oven 40 to 50 minutes, or until center is set and
apples are tender. (45 minutes for me had the top already brown and
the edges of the apples crisping). You can bake in a water bath if you
want, but I didn’t find it necessary.

6) While pudding is baking, mix together white sugar, 1/4 cup brown
sugar, 1/2 cup milk, and 1/2 cup butter in a saucepan. Bring to a
boil, then turn down a bit and cook for a while (5-10min) until it thickens up.

Maybe leave the milk out for a really nice sauce… when I made it it was just too watery.

Remove from heat, and stir in 1 teaspoon vanilla. Serve
over bread pudding for a super sweet dessert, or leave it out and go
with just the crumble.

One thought on “Antidote for a stormy day: Apple Crumble Bread Pudding

  1. I am SOOOOOOOOOO hungry now and at the office, i don’t know what I am going to do, hahaha! Bravo…seriously inspiring and inspired blog!!

Leave a Reply

